Details US

The United States of America, often abbreviated as U.S.A, USA, or simply US, is the third largest country in the world in terms of area (including national waters) and third largest country in terms of population (behind China and India).  What would become the United States first appeared when the Thirteen Colonies of Great Britain declared their independence from Great Britain on July 4th, 1776.  The United States Constitution, the supreme law of the land, was adopted by the states on September 17, 1787 and ratified a year later marking the official existence of the United States of America as a federal political entity.

Born primarily from European colonies and fueled heavily by European immigration (with Asian and Latino immigration increasing in the late 19th and early 20th centuries) the United States is considered a western power with a primarily European style culture, although the United State’s diverse multiculturalism, vast area and population, and individual state communities has led to a rise of numerous sub-cultures and traditions that give the country distinct regional styles.  The United States has no official language although English is the de facto language and is spoken by a majority of the population.

The United States’ economy is the largest in the world by GDP and the USA is currently the world’s only remaining superpower after the breakup of the Soviet Union.  With abundant natural resources of almost every kind the United States has a very diverse economy locally and globally.  The US also possesses a very diverse national climate ranging from the deserts of New Mexico to the tundra of Alaska.  Canada and Mexico are the only nations that physically border the United States.

The government of the United States, state and federal, is a republic governed by the laws of the United States Constitution (or state constitutions in the case of state organization) with the President serving as the head of state, a two-house Congress serving as the legislative branch, and a federal Supreme Court providing the final judiciary branch.  Members of the first two branches are elected by popular vote every 2 to 4 years; justices of the Supreme Court are nominated by the President and approved by Congress.

© San Juan Web, Inc. 2024 | Hosted at Orcas Web